The Chronicle Project

24 hours. 1,440 minutes. Or 86,400 seconds.  May 15th

The Chronicle Project challenges artists to document a single day in their lives and share it with our community. Choose to create a visual record, describe your day in narrative form or depict your path as a chart or map — just make sure to limit your focus to a single 24-hour span. Keep track of something specific, like every sound you hear, or attempt to capture your overall impression of a day. The only restriction is that your work must fold down to a size of 4″ x 6″. We’ll exhibit the resulting chronicles in the Brooklyn Art Library and collapse 1,000 unique days into one

Any medium is acceptable, including      drawing, sewing, collage, printmaking or photography.

  • Please make sure that your Chronicle can fold into a flat rectangle no larger than 4” x 6”.
  • Please print your name clearly on the back of your Chronicle.
  • Please do not submit a sculpture or  3D object. All Chronicles must fold down flat to be included.
  • Please do not use glue, glitter, or  other materials that could fall off your work or damage other      contributions.
  • Please note that submissions will not  be returned.
  • Please postmark your Chronicle by May 15th to:
    Brooklyn Art Library
    ℅ The Chronicle Project
    103A N. 3rd St.
    Brooklyn, NY 11249

 

I am soooooo bad… I started this last night because I was sooooooooooo busy last week and picked up my grandson on Friday afternoon. Best mother’s Day weekend ever… now the house is too quiet!

tore the printed images

remains of black & white printed images torn out from the larger paper… I wrote it as a 24 hour visit but my grandson did sleep over two nights so images inside were a combo of the two days… this was a fun project to do – however, my delay in starting – I get so many ideas … it’s hard to pick one .

below: inside the accordion book – page 1 & 2 collage

page 1 & 2

had to stick a poem in somewhere! printed it on tracing paper glued to glossy brochure paper as I was printing a couple extra images. then I peeled it off and adhered it over the dandelion print.

 

poem – can’t make anything without one!

 

last 2 pages

unfolded…

I made this into an accordion book. there are digital prints on each page [front and back]. think I had 40 pages all together… I did not post any images containing my son or grandson… there were some really cute images.

Next… hand-lettered on tracing paper the project name. then tore the edges and adhered with Golden Polymer Medium over the hand stained paper previously glued onto the mat board.

cover

front and back covers – the printing on the back cover [not the studio mailing label] came from the plastic bag that I had under the sumi paper when I hand stained it. I make a of “stained” paper. I place scrap paper onto old plastic bags,; then I pour, brush, spatter it with ink, acrylic paint, glitter glue, etc. When this  new piece of stained paper was dry, I pulled it off the plastic bag – surprise it lifted the print from the bag!

front & back

decided that I needed to tie the book together so I taped this ribbon onto the back cover.

So there it is – I rushed to the post office to get today’s postmark … well there is a lot going on for me so I’m not upset at the seeming procrastination.
Next – among other “things-to-do”:    The Mystery Project due May 31st What happens when you make a stranger’s day?

This week’s final free project in the 10 x 10 Series is a collaboration with our friends at Prismacolor. The Mystery Project challenges artists to experiment with the unexpected. Every participant will receive a mystery project kit, which includes a free Prismacolor Brush l Fine Art Marker in a surprise color and a secret theme to guide your work. Create a token of inspiration using the tools in your kit — it could be a drawing, a zine, a sculpture, or a collage — then install it in a public place for a stranger to discover. Just remember to document your mystery project and send us a photograph! We’ll share your creative surprises with the entire community online.

 

