working on mandalas today – although it’s sunny and a good should would be to set up the tile cutter and tile the bathtub surround… nah….

Started this Butterfly mandala in a Mandala workshop a while back, then I worked on it again in January’s Mandala workshop that I facilitated… today I finally finished it.  I accept the slight flaws as being human as opposed to being a machine/computer program that would line everything up perfectly. I like the blue background which is an Elements 11 fill. think it would look good floated on dark blue mat in a square frame.

Butterfly Mandala

and this one I started in the Mandala workshop I facilitated a few weeks ago. Worked on it for a few hours in the WC Pencil class the other night.

Forest – Fir & Maples

note that bright light creeping across the paper – almost need my sunglasses!
here’s a close up of the root overlap/center.

root center of mandala

love using the watercolor pencils – specifically the Creatacolor Aqua Monolith as they are solid pigment! Note I put a clean piece of paper across the Bristol paper to keep oil hands off the paper.

watercolor pencils

Hope to finish today – will also give it a wash of the iridescent, interference and/or duochrome colors – Daniel Smith extra fine watercolors – Like working on Bristol or hot press WC paper – prefer a smooth surface.

 

Back to work,

e

 

 

 

 

 

