Here’s the catalog description of the workshop I taught yesterday:

Zen Brush with Color Sat April 13th 9:30am to 3:30pm bring a bag lunch    Class fee $39.00

First begin by practicing brush control and continue the basic stroke study by painting the “Four Gentlemen” and the “Four Seasons” in color (with a flower representing each season). Using the refined Sumi-e style, students learn to paint flowers, insects, birds, and animals with simple strokes in color.

Olympia Parks, Arts and Recreation –  222 Columbia Street NW, Olympia WA 98501    www.olympiawa.gov/experienceit   Call 360.753.8380  olympiaparks@ci.olympia.wa.us

 

6 students for the workshop. Good day to be inside as the Pacific  NW rain squalls were intense all day… the Four Gentlemen are: bamboo, plum, orchid and chrysanthemum.  I only remembered to take a few photos as I was so busy going around and around giving individual help….

orchid leaf stroke

 

chrysanthemum – line style depiction

delicate lines

 

again I was so busy teaching, I didn’t take more photos of bamboo or plum blossoms let alone the mounted finished projects. The went by very quickly…

orchid

 

I used watercolor as Sumi-e  color ink is very expensive. I had to be extra careful when mounting so that I didn’t smear the watercolor when smoothing wrinkles out of the paper.

One student painted a practice sheet of spider chrysanthemums. While she was working on other things, I carefully cut out the
various blooms and made a collage. It looked great   – sorry no photo of it….

My class schedule can be found on my website and on the Google site listed below:

www.nine-lives-studio.com
https://sites.google.com/site/ellenmiffittartist/  [specific for class info]

 

keep arting,

e

 

 

