Oshogatsu in Olympia 2014 – Japanese New Year celebration…

It was a wonderful day – talked myself horse. There were great local groups providing entertainment all day.

This celebration is sponsored by The Olympia Kato Sister City Association (OKSCA). This group was incorporated as a non-profit in 1981 after a sister city relationship had been agreed upon by the Olympia and Kato (historically Yashiro) town councils.  I donated a matted 14″hX11″w original Sumi-e for their raffle.  Eight dignitaries from  Kato were honored and officially welcomed from the sister city.  They later performed a traditional Hyottoko Dance.

www.celebratejapan.org  is the official link

Here’s what my vendor table looked like:

I sold cards, small prints and a few matted 11”X14” Sumi-e originals. I was happy to send people away with art to grace their homes.  Thanks to all who purchased from me today.

I also handed out allot of Biz cards to prospective art class participants.

There were many activities for children as well as a tea ceremony demo and an ichibana display. Mochi was made the traditional way with heavy mallets pounding the rice in a large granite motar bowl.

Ichibana arrangement

 

