OMG – I can’t believe that March was my last post…  somewhere along the line from Nov to May, I really fell down a deep hole. To be honest, it was a struggle to put food on the table. Please no food bank advice – we don’t each much of what is given out at out local food bank.    Out of 17 classes offered through Olympia Parks, Arts and Rec only five ran. That with limited art or blank note card sales created a real low. With that said, lets move forward….

Wow…. It’s September 2nd! what a wild and crazy summer. Thirteen of my 14 kids art classes ran. Between the heat and the 6 hours a day, plus prep at home, and buying supples, I crashed last week. I was exhausted. I’m thinking far less hours next summer – for instance 9 to 11:30 for the 12-16 year olds and 12:30 to 2pm for the 8 to 12 year olds. Most of the older kids were incredible – they came in ready to learn and create. I made art work along with them. I will scan and post soon…

all six pieces that I entered into the WA State Fair Fine Art Exhibit [formerly Puyallup Fair] have been accepted. The reception is on Friday the 11th.
The pieces include: two mini 4X4″ canvas mixed media [Nocture and Blue Moon], two 11X14″ Sumi-e [Cat Zen and Serenity] and two mixed media on stretched canvass – 16X20″ [Departing Heart and Green Man, Forest Spirit].

The two mixed media pieces that I created for the Confluence Art Gallery in Twisp WA were finally delivered after the level 3 evacuation was lifted because of the wildfires  and the gallery could safely reopen.

“Celebration of the Horse” at the Confluence Gallery in Twisp, WA. The Confluence Gallery will give a percentage of the proceeds to the non-profit organization Methow Valley Riding Unlimited (MVRU), which offers a therapeutic riding program among others. However, all artists will receive their full commission for works sold during the exhibit.
The Horse

© 8/2015 Ellen Miffitt

Twilight  (C) 8/2015 Ellen Miffitt {please note – colors are slightly off on this image.]

My camera has died so learning to use the iPad to take photographs.

Back to arting despite a bumpy Spring and full summer teaching schedule.

 

Keep arting –

e

