Lesson about wearing glasses and I need to stop being so stressed so I can think clearly


the above picture shows my first batch of aromatherapy clay pendants. This is low fire clay. When i went to fire them last time I did not look at the package with my glasses on and saw only “cone 6”. Looking up the temperature chart on Internet… cone 6 is 2,232…
The cone/firing temp for “06” low fire is – 18,030… I have been stressed lately and very fuzzy thinking – it should have been a real low fire vs high fire non mistake. You can’t tell from the picture but the clay over-fired and vitrified. The pieces will make good wind chimes.

Second try – tray of shapes dried quickly during this unusual PNW warm weather:

after drying to leather hard stage, I then clean the edges a bit…

and load the kiln:

this kiln is from around 1970 and still has the original coils…

I’ve made a lot more paper beads. It is tricky to cut the paper and roll so that come out the same size.   Maybe I need my eyes checked and finally bow down to prescription glasses.

bought my tools for making “Broken Plate” jewelry:

I saw a how-to where the person used chamois cloth and inserted a piece of  wire hanger for a hanger and then cut/glued to the back of the chard. I’m going to try that…

Here’s the plates that I will practice with – bought them today at the Estate Store:

off to check the kiln temp… no more over firing.

e

 

 

 

 

 

 

